Digital Construction Awards 2024: get ready to compete for an industry Oscar

Digital Construction Awards 2023 - all the winners
To the 2023 victors, the spoils! (Photo © 2023 – ASV Photography Ltd.

The Digital Construction Awards 2024 will soon open for entries and you can get a sneak peak at the categories and their entry criteria now.

The Digital Construction Awards 2024 celebrate best practice and reward innovation in the application of BIM, information management and digital technology in the built environment sector. They will take place at a gala dinner on 2 July 2024 at The Brewery in London.

Two new categories have been added to the 12 that featured at the 2023 Awards. One is for multi-disciplinary consultancies that want to shout about their best practice and innovation in digital construction, which complements the existing Digital Consultancy of the Year for consultancies that specialise in digital construction.

The other new category is focused on innovative new products and complements the existing Best Application of Technology category.

The full list of categories is:

  • Digital Construction Project of the Year
  • Digital Contractor of the Year
  • Digital Consultancy of the Year
  • Digital Multi-disciplinary Consultancy of the Year
  • Digital Collaboration of the Year
  • Digital Rising Star of the Year
  • Digital Construction Champion of the Year
  • Best Application of Technology
  • Product Innovation of the Year
  • Best Use of Data on a Project
  • Delivering Sustainability with Digital Innovation
  • Digital Innovation in Asset Management
  • Digital Innovation in Health, Safety and Wellbeing
  • Digital Innovation in Productivity

The awards are open for entries on 9 January. The entry deadline is 15 March and shortlisted entrants will be revealed on 13 May.

Partners for the Awards are Digital Construction Week, the Chartered Institute of Building, and Construction Management and BIMplus.

The industry’s Oscars

Will Mann, editor of Construction Management, said: “We were overwhelmed by the reaction to the 2023 Awards – there were more than 140 entries, and nearly 450 digital construction professionals attended the gala dinner. We’re proud to stage the Awards again – the industry’s Oscars – and we look forward to celebrating the progress the industry is making.”

Justin Stanton, BIMplus editor, added: “We’ve tweaked the categories, so please read the entry criteria in plenty of time. Wherever you are in the built environment supply chain, there’s a category that will allow you to showcase your work.”

Ollie Hughes, co-founder of Digital Construction Week, concluded: “To ensure the best of the best receive the recognition they deserve, we are expanding our judging panel to more than 40 well-known experts drawn from across the built environment sector. No matter which categories you enter, one of the keys to success will be evidence.”

Previous winners

Among 2023’s winners were Sir Robert McAlpine’s conservation of the famous Elizabeth Tower (Digital Construction Project of the Year) and Laing O’Rourke’s pioneering work on the new Everton FC stadium (Digital Innovation in Productivity, and Digital Collaboration of the Year category with BDP and Solibri).

Graham emerged triumphant as Digital Contractor of the Year, while Bond Bryan Digital (as it was named before the merger with sister company Createmaster) secured the Digital Consultancy of the Year trophy.

Other consultancies that won on the night were Faithful + Gould (Best Application of Technology) and Laminar Projects (Best Use of Data on a Project).

L Lynch was victorious in the Digital Innovation in Health, Safety and Wellbeing category. The Balfour Beatty Atkins JV with National Highways won Digital Innovation in Asset Management.

Skanska scooped the Delivering Net Zero with Digital Innovation trophy.

Su Butcher, programme manager at BIM for Housing Associations, was honoured with the Digital Construction Champion of the Year award.

Finally, FM Conway business analyst Lauren Parsons picked up the Digital Rising Star of the Year.

To find out more about the Awards, head to

To become an Awards sponsor, email Dave Smith at [email protected] or Ollie Hughes at [email protected].

Don’t miss out on BIM and digital construction news: sign up to receive the BIMplus newsletter.

Story for BIM+? Get in touch via email: [email protected]

Latest articles in News